Market Watch

Welcome To Parliament! Smriti Irani, Gambhir, Sunny & Others Who Took Oath As New MPs

All Hail The New MPsAgencies
All Hail The New MPs
India's 16th Lok Sabha polls were high on drama, excitement and stardom. From top actors and singing icons to sports aces, an array of celebrities joined the political race this year, and some succeeded in making it to Parliament.

Weeks after Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his cabinet took the oath of office at the Rashtrapati Bhawan, it was the turn of newly-elected members of Parliament to sign up. On Monday, the new MPs - some making their debuts while others doing an encore - were sworn-in as members of the 17th Lok Sabha.

From Gautam Gambhir to Sunny Deol and Babul Supriyo, here's a peek at all the celebrities who took the oath to the 17th Lok Sabha.
Smriti IraniBCCL
Smriti Irani
One of the most legendary victories of this year's elections was Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate Smriti Irani's win in Amethi against Congress President Rahul Gandhi. Hailing the newly-elected Union Cabinet Minister, all MPs rose to applaud Irani as she took the oath of office.

The actress-turned-politician, who rose to fame as Tulsi in popular daily soap 'Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi', took the lead in Amethi as the counting of votes began and defeated the Gandhi scion by 55,000+ votes. Her win in the constituency was a major setback for the Gandhi clan who have been ruling the constituency since 3-4 decades.
Hema MaliniAgencies
Hema Malini
Actress Hema Malini, who won the 16th Lok Sabha polls from Mathura on a BJP ticket, took the oath of office as MP on Tuesday. The Dream Girl of Bollywood, who was one of the richest candidates of the elections donned a saree on her first day in Parliament. She concluded the oath with ‘Radhe Radhe! Krishnam Vande, Jagat Guru.’ This is the actress's second consecutive term in the house.
Gautam GambhirAgencies
Gautam Gambhir
Cricketer Gautam Gambhir also took his oath of office yesterday. Dressed in a simple, white kurta-pyjama, Gambhir made his first appearance in Parliament.

The former cricketer, who debuted in politics this year, contested elections from the East Delhi constituency. The BJP candidate, who was also this year's richest Lok Sabha candidate, made a mark in the constituency by winning the elections by a hefty margin of 3,17,000+ votes.
Sunny DeolBCCL
Sunny Deol
Dressed in a black shirt, actor Sunny Deol took his first steps towards Parliament today. The 'Gadar' star, who made his political debut from Gurdaspur constituency, took the oath as MP yesterday. The BJP candidate won the elections by a margin of 77,000+ votes.
Babul SupriyoAgencies
Babul Supriyo
Singer Babul Supriyo made BJP proud from Asanol in West Bengal. Supriyo, who took the oath as MP yesterday, competed with Trinamool Congress candidate Moon Moon Sen and proved victorious by a margin of 1,97,000+ votes. This is his second consecutive term in Parliament.
Actress Sumalatha, who made her political debut this year from Mandya, also joined the celebrities who took oath of office. The multi-lingual star opted for an off-white saree for her first day in Parliament.
Ravi KishanAgencies
Ravi Kishan
Bhojpuri star Ravi Kishan, who also made BJP proud, took the oath of office in a white shirt and blue Nehru jacket. He contested elections from Gorakhpur constituency this year and won by an impressive margin of 3,01,000+ votes.
Manoj TiwariAgencies
Manoj Tiwari
Bhojpuri actor Manoj Tiwari also joined the long array of celebrities who took the oath of office as MPs. The Delhi chief of BJP took on Congress's Sheila Dixit from North East Delhi and won by a huge margin of 3,57,000+ votes.
Hans Raj HansAgencies
Hans Raj Hans
Singer Hans Raj Hans, who debuted in Indian political scene this year, took the oath of office yesterday. The newly-elected MP from North West Delhi opted for a white kurta-pyjama paired with a yellow Nehru jacket.
Text Size:AAA


This article has been saved